2016: A Year in Review

[Events]:

(Some of my favorite things I’ve done/attended…)

  • Teaching Syrian refugees

edit-13

  • The Netherlands – July (soon: 9 Days in The Netherlands)

IMG_3468.JPG

مهرجان “بين المولد والمسرى حكاية أذان” مع المنشد بلال الأحمد

img_9659

  • Second place at Takaful’s photography competition “بعيونهم نرى” (Bottom photograph is mine)

img_9749-1

img_5168

  • Website design workshop

img_9337-2

  • Recording a radio program at “إذاعة القرآن الكريم – صوت الأزهر”

  • Local Taekwondo championship (*photo not mine)

img_9380-1

  • Maher Zain concert – September

 

[Books]:

  • The Hunger Games | Suzanne Collins
  • Catching Fire | Suzanne Collins
  • Mokingjay | Suzanne Collins
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns | Khaled Hosseini
  • Looking for Alaska | John Green
  • Paper Towns | John Green
  • Eleanor and Park | Rainbow Rowell 
  • Landline | Rainbow Rowell
  • Fangirl | Rainbow Rowell
  • Who Is J.K. Rowling | by Pamela D. Pollack, Meg Belviso
  • Old School (Diary of A Wimpy Kid #10) | Jeff Kinney
  • The Barcode Tattoo | Suzanne Weyn
  • Gregot the Overlander (Underland Chronicles #1) | Suzanne Collins
  • Gregor and The Prophecy of Bane (Underland Chronicles #2) | Suzanne Collins
  • Precy Jackson and The Greek Hereos | Rick Riordan
  • I Am Malala | Malala Yousafzai
  • The Crown (The Selection #5) | Kiera Cass
  • Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) | Tahereh Mafi
  • Destroy Me (Shatter Me #1.5) | Tahereh Mafi
  • Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) | Tahereh Mafi
  • Fracture Me (Shatter Me #2.5) | Tahereh Mafi
  • Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3) | Tahereh Mafi
  • Everything Everything | Nicola Yoon
  • الخيميائي | باولو كويلو 
  • وحيداً في دمشق | شموئيل شيغف
  • يسمعون حسيسها | أيمن العتوم
  • لأنني أحبك | غيوم ميسو 
  • حوار هادئ بين السنة والشيعة | عبد الله بن سعيد الجنيد
  • القوقعة | مصطفى خليفة
  • رجال في الشمس | غسان كنفاني
  • أم سعد | غسان كنفاني
  • عالم ليس لنا | غسان كنفاني
  • الكبريت في يدي ودويلاتكم من ورق | نزار قباني
  • فاقد الهوية | حنان فرحات
  • السماء تهرب كل يوم | كاتيا الطويل
  • يافا | نبال قندس
  • سماء مليئة بالنجوم | غادة بوعلوان
  • السجن -18 | محمد بن مانع الشهري
  • كبرت ونسيت أن أنسى | بثينة العيسى
  • عدالة السماء | محمود شيت خطاب

[Life]:

  • I started knitting this year (I still don’t really know anything except how to cast on and off, and one knitting pattern, but still!)
  • In the past few weeks, I started reading books and essays that aren’t just novels and stories, which is what I’ve wanted. I always though books-that-aren’t-novels are boring, but now I’m fine with them 😀
  • Also, I’ve always read English books, this year I also started reading Arabic ones, and I’m loving them much more. Because well.. it’s Arabic (insert emoji with hearts for eyes)
  • I was kind of unproductive on the part of writing. Inshallah this year will be a better writing year for me :/
  • I think 2016 was such a different year for me, a lot of my priorities shifted and my goals and aims definitely changed

How was your 2016?

name

14 comments

  1. skd · June 26

    Nice narration and interesting things done! 👍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KuminKueche · May 23

    Nice blog, well done! Are you Syrian? where do you live? It’s nice to write in both Arabic and english.. Best wishes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leen · May 23

      Nope, I’m Lebanese 🙂
      Ah yes! It is, I guess!
      Thank you loads for stopping by! 😀

      Like

  3. Jennifer Worrell · January 17

    You have great taste in books! What a year! Enjoy every second!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Leen · January 17

      Ah thank you!
      Have a great 2017!

      Like

    • Leen · January 17

      Thank you!
      Have a great 2017!

      Like

  4. Hi Leen, I’m so glad that you visited my blog and your digital footprint brought me here. Your 2016 review reveals your wonderful personality and kind nature. As a bookworm myself, I just loved the list of books you’ve read…
    Wish you a great 2017 ahead… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artistbybeauty · January 8

    Lovely 2016 review 🙂 🙂 I wish you a successful and great year this 2017 ❤ ❤ x x

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

