Stuck in Architecture Studio

Architectural engineering school…

You never really experience it, until you do. The stress, the hysterical laughing, the all-nighters, the pressure, the tears, the annoying professors and the friendly ones, the fights and makeups, the long classes…

I feel like I don’t have enough time for anything. I admit that I suck at time-management, and I can definitely use some help in that field. But it seems like I can’t do anything alongside architecture school. This blog I was so excited to run, and which sits abandoned right now, is proof.

I’ve asked a few (around 6) students from years 3, 4, and 5 if they would choose architecture school again if they were to go back in time, and the surprise was they all said no- they would not. Students from my year (year 2) seem mostly strained, tired, unsatisfied, and just worn out from studies.

If you want an easy life, don’t be an architect.

-Zaha Hadid

Are we stuck with this if we have the choice to leave? And if we do have the choice to leave, why do most of us stick to architecture school anyway?

Architecture is a major with vast and wide opportunities. It opens up your eyes to new things you never took notice of before, like that weird pattern they used on the mall facade or the arrangement of trees in that house garden…

But architecture school doesn’t do it justice.

You feel like some professors are trying to crush your creativity, kill your vibe. Some courses are nerve-wracking and stressful, leaving you anxious and migraine-d.

11265135_635851036545768_6977548534629884829_n

Year 1

I want to write more about this. I have so much to say, but I need time to sit and put my thoughts together into a meaningful piece of writing.

Too bad I have my final design submission next week and MAJOR changes I need to fix with my plans.

Have a good day and stay strong.

If you weren’t an optimist, it would be impossible to be an architect.

-Norman Foster

Featured Image Photo Credits: http://boye-akinola-qpgz.squarespace.com
4 comments

  1. revels1 · October 14

    Gosh I can really relate to this – I’m in architecture too! It is tough, but I find it challenging and fun at the same time and I hope you do too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sena · October 15

      Haha I’m sure anyone in Architecture school can relate to that. I’m in third year now and it’s getting more challenging; what year are you in?

      Liked by 1 person

      • revels1 · October 16

        I’m in second year – I’ve heard that third year tends to get really tough though, so good luck with that!
        Where do you study, if you don’t mind me asking?

        Like

  2. Hanin · December 13, 2015

    😍😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

